Header Image for Llandybie Community Council

Llandybie Community Council

HeoldduLlandybie Community Council, despite the title, contains four Wards, namely Llandybie, Penygroes, Saron and Heolddu. These in turn consist of eleven villages with hamlets ranging from bustling Llandybie with its landmark church, several small shops and other local amenities, to the rural Ward of Heolddu which gently dips its toes into the Brecon Beacons National Park. 

Photo of LlandybieOver time the area has had its share of industry, from coal mining within Penygroes, Saron and Llandybie Wards which produced very high quality anthracite coal. Llandybie Ward area was one of the most important lime production centres in Wales spanning from the mid nineteenth century to the mid twentieth century, due to the various limestone quarries in the area.

Present day industries are centred in the Llandybie and Capel Hendre areas.