Minutes of the Statutory Meeting of Llandybie Community Council on Teams on Wednesday, 28th May, 2025 at 6.30 p.m.

Present			
Councillors	P.H. Roberts S. Roberts R.A. Davies D. W. Hopkins	R.W. Barnes Mrs A.J. Evans J.W. Tandy E. W. Nicholas	H. Davies G. J. Davies L. Wilkins
Attending online Apologies	A. W. Jones N. C. Davies D. Thomas	Mrs K.D.L. Davies E. Davies A. Thomas	L. Jones C. R. Thomas
Not Present	There were none.		

713.

Appointment of Chair and Vice Chair

The Chair Cllr D. W. Hopkins explained that it was a tradition of the council that the Vice Chair on occasions such as this be asked they wished to be considered to take the Chair, the current Vice Chair Cllr J. W Tandy said that he was happy to be considered.

The Chair asked if there were any iother nominations for Chair, there were none and then asked for a proposer and seconder for Cllr J. W, Tandy be considered as Chair. Cllr R.W. Barnes proposed and Cllr A. J. Evans.

A vote was taken and Cllr J. W. Tandy was voted unanimously as the Chair of Llandybie Community Council for 2025/26.

Newly elected Chair Cllr J. W. Tandy took the Chair and duely thanked Cllr D. W. Hopkins for a successful year in office.

Chair Cllr J. W. Tandy proceeded to ask for nominations for Vice Chair and himself proposed Cllr A. J. Evans, this was duely seconded by Cllr P. H. Roberts.

A vote was taken and Cllr A. J. Evans was uninanimously voted in as Vice Chair for 2025/26.

It was **resolved** that Councillor Cllr J. W. Tandy be appointed as Chair and Councillor Cllr A. J. Evans as Vice Chair. They were then sworn into Office.

714.

Appointment of Committees

Chair Cllr J. W.Tandy explained that he had discussed with the previous chair and the Clerk, rationalising the amount of meetings by merging committees with a common theme to cut doen on the amount meetings allow counncillors on committees with dual portfolios to focus their attentions, he further stated that he felt that councillors be

confined to one committee per coucillor and that one clouncillor per ward be represented on each committee.

Cllr R. A. Davies and Cllr A. W. Jones whilst concurring with ethos of rationalisation felt that prior drafts of any proposal coulkd have been made available.

The Chair explained that it was always the case that committees discussed verably at meeting any changes and that it was with our Standing Orders to change and reorganiose committees.

The Clerk interjected and suggested that the proposed rationalistaion into five committees plus Ordinary and Statutory Committees including the current committees and its members be circulated and could be discussed for ratification at the June Ordinary Meeting.

It was **resolved** to **defer** the decision of rationlistation and the appointment of members to Committees to be discussed at the June Ordinary Meeting, the Clerk will email all Councillors with the Chairs proposal.

715.

Representatives on External Bodies

It was **resolved** that the following Members world represent the Council on external bodies:

Carmarthenshire One Voice Wales: E. Davies and Mrs C. Thomas

One Voice Wales Larger Councils Committee: Cllr J. W. Tandy

Heart of Wales Line Travellers' Association: Cllr A. J. Evans V. Chair

Governing Body of Saron Primary School: Mrs C. R. Thomas

Governing Body of Penygroes Primary School: J. W. Tandy

Governing Body of Blaenau Primary School: P. H. Roberts

Governing Body of Llandybie Primary School: It was decided to ask Cllr E. Davies who had given apologies to replace Cllr S. Roberts.

It was decided not to offer a councilor for governor roles at Gorslas Primary School and Parcyrhun Primary School:

It was **resolved** to adopt the above councillors in the above roles on the above outside bodies for 2025/26 and in the case of Cllr E. Davies his postion would be discussed for ratification at the June Ordinary Meeting.

716.

Council and Statutory meeting dates for 2023/24

Members **resolved** that meetings would continue to be held on the last Wednesday of each month except for August and December when there would be no meetings. It was further **resolved** that additional meetings in January and September on the first Wednesday of the month would also be held but left to the discretion of the Chair and Clerk to decide if a meeting was warranted. The Statutory meeting would be held prior to the May 2025 Ordinary meeting. Any new committee arrabngements as per the June Ordinary Meeti ng on rationalisation of Committees be held on the second Wedneaday of every month except August and December.

717.

Signatories

The Clerk explained that Cllr K. D. L. Davies, Cllr S. Roberts and Cllr E. Davies were currently undertaking the role of authorising payments.

It was **resolved** that Councillors S. Roberts, K. D. L. Davies and E. Davies be retained as signatories.

718.

As there was no further business to discuss, the Chair declared the meeting closed at 6.59 p.m.