Minutes of the Statutory Meeting of Llandybie Community Council held at the Council Offices, High Street, Llandybie on Wednesday, 17th May, 2017 at 6.30 p.m.

#### Present

Councillors Apologies	I. Rh. Llewelyn R. A. Davies A. Davies E. W. Nicholas Mrs L. Latham	Mrs K. Davies W. D. Evans Mrs Ll. Hindley A. W. Jones Mrs C.Thomas	P.H. Roberts B. Rees D. Hopkins N. Evans D. Nicholas
Councillors	R. A. Davies	A.P. Cooper	C Harris

1.

#### **Opening Welcome**

Councillor I. Rh. Llewelyn (the outgoing Chair of the Council) welcomed Members to the meeting and said that he had enjoyed his time as Chair of the Council and wished the incoming Chair well in her term in office. Councillor I. Rh. Llewelyn referred to the fresh challenges facing the Council with Asset Transfer but that the Council was well placed to make a success of it. He thanked his fellow Councillors for their support and the staff for continuing their administrative duties in a professional manner.

2.

## **Appointment of Chair and Vice Chair**

It was resolved that Councillor Mrs J. E. Collins be appointed as Chair and Councillor Mrs Karen Davies as Vice Chair, who were then sworn into Office. Councillor I. Rh. Llewelyn then stepped down and the new Chair, Councillor Mrs J. E. Collins took over as Chair of Council.

The Chair thanked Councillor I. Rh. Llewelyn for his work during the year.

3.

## **Appointment of Committees**

It was confirmed that the Chair and the Vice Chair be Members of all Council committees, as was resolved previously.

It was **resolved** to elect the below mentioned Councillors to serve on the following Committees:

#### **Finance Committee**

Llandybie: R.A. Davies and D. Hopkins Saron: Mrs C Thomas and N. Evans Penygroes: Mrs Ll. Hindley and Mrs L. Latham Heolddu: I. Rh. Llewelyn

## **Planning Committee**

Llandybie: W. D. Evans and E. W. Nicholas Saron: A. Davies and N. Evans Penygroes: Mrs Ll. Hindley and P.H. Roberts Heolddu: As Councillor I. Rh. Llewelyn was employed at the Planning Department of the County Council it was resolved to co-opt Councillor D. Nicholas on to the committee.

## **Rights of Way Committee**

Llandybie: B. Rees and E.W. Nicholas Saron: Mrs C Thomas and A. Davies Penygroes: Mrs Ll. Hindley and P.H. Roberts Heolddu: I. Rh. Llewelyn

## **Community Development Committee**

Llandybie: B. Rees and D. Hopkins Saron: A. P. Cooper and N. Evans Penygroes: Mrs Ll. Hindley and P.H. Roberts Heolddu: I. Rh. Llewelyn

## **Policy Committee**

Llandybie: D. Hopkins Saron: C. Harris Penygroes: P. H. Roberts Heolddu: I. Rh. Llewelyn

## Committee to raise the profile of the Council

Llandybie: R. A. Davies and A. W. Jones Saron: A. Davies and N. Evans Penygroes: Mrs Ll. Hindley and Mrs. L. Latham Heolddu: I. Rh. Llewelyn

## **Employment Committee**

Llandybie: R. A. Davies and W. D. Evans Saron: A Davies and N. Evans Penygroes: P. H. Roberts and Mrs. Ll. Hindley Heolddu: I. Rh. Llewelyn 4.

## **Representatives on External Bodies**

It was **resolved** that the following Members world represent the Council on external bodies:

Amman Local Councils Group: Mrs. K. Davies and N. Evans

Gwendraeth Local Councils Group: Mrs J. Collins and Mrs Ll. Hindley

Carmarthenshire One Voice Wales: I. Rh. Llewelyn and Mrs. J. Collins

One Voice Wales Larger Councils Committee: A. Davies and I. Rh. Llewelyn as reserve

Heart of Wales Line Travellers' Association: D. Hopkins

Age Concern Wales: Mrs. C. Thomas

Brecon Beacons National Park Authority: Mrs J. Collins

Dinefwr Homestart: Mrs J. E Collins

Menter Cwm Gwendraeth: Mrs J. Collins and Mrs Ll. Hindley

Menter Bro Dinefwr: Mrs J. E Collins

Governing Body of Saron Primary School: N. Evans

Governing Body of Penygroes Primary School: Mrs Ll. Hindley

Governing Body of Blaenau Primary School: P. H. Roberts

Governing Body of Llandybie Primary School: D. W. Hopkins

5.

# Council and Statutory meeting dates for 2017/18

Members **resolved** that meetings would continue to be held on the last Wednesday of each month except for August and December when there would be no meetings, there would be additional meetings in January and September on the first Wednesday of the month. The Statutory meeting would be held prior to the May 2018 meeting.

6.

## Signatories

It was **resolved** that Councillors Mrs J. Collins, Mrs Ll. Hindley and R. A. Davies would remain as signatories together with the Clerk for the Community Council's

current and savings accounts. It was confirmed that the Clerk's signature would be required together with any two of the above named councillors for each transaction.

7.

As there was no further business to discuss, the Chair declared the meeting closed at 6.50 p.m.